Ferret Nation Habitat Model 181 Single Unit

Regularly: $129.99
Eligible for free e-certification with purchase

10% promotional discount applied. Cart total will reflect savings.

Ferret Nation Habitat Model 181 Single Unit


Buy 2 or more, each at $105.29

In Stock. Usually Ships within 24 hours.

Quantity discount will reflect in cart.

Shipping weight = 65.00 lbs.


Sometimes, manufacturers require that products be advertised only at their suggested prices. When we choose to sell these items for less, we display the sale price only in the cart. To see the price, click Add to Cart.

Frequently Bought Together:

Sometimes, manufacturers require that products be advertised only at their suggested prices. When we choose to sell these items for less, we display the sale price only in the cart. To see the price, click Add to Cart.

Product Summary:

Ships to Canada
FerretNation® "No Tools Assembly" Habitat Model 181 (Single Unit) 
Designed with Ferrets & Owners in Mind... Midwest Metal has watched very closely how ferrets play, eat, sleep, interact- attending to their every need for maintaining a content, happy and safe lifestyle. Then they began designing the best environment as well as the most user friendly ferret cage in the world...this is the Ferret Nation. Now available with a "no-tools required" assembly. Interlocking panels safely and securely lock in place without the use of any screws, nuts, or bolts!

Product Features:

  • Full width double doors provide maximum accessibility for easy cleaning and feeding
  • Wide expanse shelf and full width plastic pan floor provide maximum play area and prevent dangerous falls
  • Ferret-proof dual-locking door latches provide secure, easy one-hand operation
  • Less mess with the easily removable shelf that is also height adjustable
  • "Happy Feet" ramp covers protect feet and provide traction and no-slip passage between levels
  • Angled ramps are appropriately angled for ferrets safety
  • Sturdy square tube frame and wire construction for maximum pet security
  • Easily maneuverable stand with locking casters
  • Stand provides storage area
  • Gray Quartz hammertone finish blends well with any decor, and is attractive and durable
  • Includes: 1 pan, 1 shelf, 1 ramp, 1 ramp cover 
  • Choose from 3 different set ups: Single Unit for one ferret, Double Unit for multiple ferrets, Add-on unit to place on top of the Single or Double- making even more room for ferrets to live in 
Item Specifications:
  • Please Note: New Ferret Nation Models (181, 182, 183) are not compatible with old models (141, 142, 143)
  • All Accessories such as shelves, pans, covers, are compatible with both versions
Model 181 (Replaces Model 141)
36"L x 25"W x 38 1/2"H
Bar Spacing:

Wire Guage:

12-guage, 15mm

Product Reviews by Customers

Rated 4.7 out of 5 by 16 reviewers.
Rated 5 out of 5 by Amazing Just Mazing December 21, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Love this cage worked perfectly for my two ferrets December 1, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by I <3 this cage ! I bought my first ferret less than two weeks ago, and started out with a used cheaper cage.. Bad idea It was very hard to clean there was no room for play. So we decided to upgrade to the ferret nation. This cage is amazing ! assembly was easy, the doors are huge which make cleaning a snap, I cannot say enough good things. We will be buying the add on in the future. September 7, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by AWESOME CAGE, it's Macro Major My ferret (PHARAOH) loves this cage. It is soooo roomy. Also, this single unit can hold two ferrets and now i'm consdiering getting another because it just seems like too much space for him. The doors are great, they swing open which is what sold me. :) August 8, 2012
Rated 2 out of 5 by Good and Bad ok, we will star with the Pro's. Ive always liked the Ferret Nation cage. Its sturdy, it has a lot of room and its easy to get into and clean. HUGE PLUS for me there. Now.. the not so PRO. As in the older models, I have found not everything lines up. I bought the newest model and the top of the cage doesnt lay flat. I contacted the company and the ONLY way to fix this was to dismantle the WHOLE thing and send the WHOLE thing back. BIG pain in the butt there. THey said they would see if they could send just that top piece, but never heard back. MINUS one star. Another thing with the new version, since there are no screws, it depends on gravity from what I can tell. Not everything "LOCKS" together. So, if I have to move it from one room to another, and lift the cage to go over the thresh hold, everything comes out of its sockets. NOT good. Minus one star. While I appreciate that its easy to put together.. this cage is not really pet safe, or user replacement friendly. I like the changes but if they put more thought into it, Im sure they could have found a better way without allowing this much room for defective products. My suggestion? back to the drawing board. June 30, 2012
Rated 3 out of 5 by Two pieces shipped broken. I received this cage in a timely manner but both the floor tray and the shelf were broken. Since this is such a large piece to return, and since I needed it immediately, I just ordered another floor tray and another shelf (which, of course cost me more). I am definitely NOT pleased that I had to do this but returning it would be costly and time consuming. Otherwise, the cage is ok- not as sturdy as it looks in the pic, but adequate. I also liked the idea that it had accessories and replacement parts. March 5, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Excellent cage! I love this cage! I actually bought it for my pet rabbit Lucky. She loves it. It is so spacious... we call it her bunny condo! The ramp up to the second level makes so much more usable space for this cage. That was one thing from looking at other actual rabbit cages, I found them to be a lot smaller and a lot more expensive! Two of my friends have also purchased this cage and highly recommend it. Setup was pretty easy. I was able to do it myself but it would have been a little easier to have two people. I also recommend purchasing the exterior ramp. It makes it easy for my pet to come and go back into her cage when she wants to. This has definately been a great buy! January 29, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Convenient Really I don't understand why this is considered the best ferret cage. It is decent, but has some major flaws that really make me question if it was worth the price. It's strengths include the doors (Everything about them really), frame around bars is solid, wide ramp, movable shelves, wheels, expansion capabilities, and removable tray for cleaning. It's weaknesses include weak easily bent bottom shelf/cage bottom/cage bars, unfastened top that ferrets can get out of (Need to buy zip-ties to fasten it), wobbly ramp, very high amount of minor defects (A bar wasn't attached and will have to be glued on, tons of bent things that obviously weren't from shipping and needed pliers, removable tray had a chunk missing, etc.), and poor packaging which caused the 2 flimsy pieces to be all bent up. The cage looks nice, the frame is solid, the bars aren't but will keep ferrets in (with zip ties for top), and the doors & wheels make this a very convenient cage. That being said you can tell they really skimped in quality every chance they got and it is kind of expensive for a single level.. Also the "tool-less design" seems to only exist so they can say you don't need tools.. realistically it is more frustrating and less secure for it. Unless you plan to expand the cage later I would recommend buying something that costs less and is as or more secure than this. January 27, 2012
  • 2015-11-29 T10:24:01.052-06:00
  • bvseo_lps, prod_bvrr, vn_prr_5.6
  • cp-1, bvpage1
  • co_hasreviews, tv_16, tr_16
  • loc_en_US, sid_650428, stg, sort_default
2 next>>
Browse 4 questions and 46 answers
Hide answersShow all answers | Sort by
Why did you choose this?
1800PetSupplies.com Store
because I have a ferret.
Amber M on Nov 15, 2015
i had the large version of this cage many years ago and donated it after my ferrets died. now im ready for a new ferret but want a smaller cage. the doors open allowing for cleaning!! and i like the storage underneth for food and litter. great little cage and ur price was outstanding. fyi it doesnt come up with the cage filter search button i would encourage u 2 fix that.
Kathy M on Oct 15, 2015
I have a Ferret Nation Double unit and I can say without a doubt that this is the bed small animal/ferret cage on the market!!! And PetSupplies has an amazing price!
Tami C on Oct 23, 2015
I spent a lot of time researching cages for my littler critter and every website/blog I came across raved about the quality and functionality of this cage.
Melissa R on Oct 12, 2015
does the pan slide out from bottom to clean?
A shopper on Sep 3, 2014
Best Answer: Yes, it does slide out. We find it easier to open the doors to clean the cage daily, and then about once a week we pull the tray all the way out, and take it outside for a deep cleaning :)
Reply · Report · Sherry M on Sep 3, 2014
· Add Answer · I Have This Question Too (0)
dose it come with the plastic pan and the ramp cover?
A shopper on Mar 27, 2015
Best Answer: Yes. Everything shown comes with the unit.
Reply · Report · Sarah M on Mar 27, 2015
· Add Answer · I Have This Question Too (0)
what are the measurements on this cage?
Debbie m on Dec 5, 2014
Best Answer: 36"L x 25"W x 38 1/2"H
Reply · Report · Brenda SStaff on Dec 11, 2014
· Add Answer · I Have This Question Too (0)